Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Password reminder


Personal tools
Password reminder
You are here: Home / Conferences / Amsterdam 2013 / Presentation programme

Prix Charles Peignot ceremony

When Sun 13 Oct 1510
Where Krasnapolsky A
What Typography

Every three to five years, Association Typographique Internationale awards the Prix Charles Peignot for Excellence in Type Design to a designer under the age of 35 who has made an outstanding contribution to the field. Since the inception of the Prix in 1982, all its recipients have demonstrated excellence in the craft of type design: Claude Mediavilla (1982), Jovica Veljović (1985), Petr van Blokland (1988), Robert Slimbach (1991), Carol Twombly (1994), Jean François Porchez (1998), Jonathan Hoefler (2002) and Christian Schwartz (2007). Many of the typefaces they went on to create have become best-sellers and have been used in prestigious design projects. The careers of the recipients and their works are models for many young designers to follow.

In 2013, after careful deliberation and review of numerous highly-talented candidates, the Prix Charles Peignot selection committee (Peter Biľak, Jan Middendorp, Thomas Phinney, Prix recipient Christian Schwartz, Eben Sorkin, Gerard Unger and Adam Twardoch) has nominated one young designer who not only excels in the discipline of type design but also significantly contributes to the typographic community in the broader sense. At the ATypI Amsterdam 2013 conference, we will celebrate the new recipient of the Prix Charles Peignot.

The Prix is named after ATypI founder Charles Peignot, who was the organization’s first president 1957–1973, and had served as director of the Deberny & Peignot foundry in Paris for nearly fifty years.

Back to the programme