Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Password reminder


Personal tools
Password reminder
You are here: Home / Conferences / Montréal 2017 / Program preview

Program preview

We’re putting the finishing touches on the ATypI 2017 Montréal program, and working on adding a few special surprises. In the meantime, feast your eyes on our stellar list of speakers and plan your typographic travel calendar with our schedule overview.

ATypI 2017 keynote speakers

Three giant talents in type design and typographic design will present keynotes at ATypI 2017 Montréal Atypique: Paula Scher, Rod McDonald, and Roger Black.

Scher will open the conference on Wednesday morning, September 13, with McDonald speaking that evening. Black will close the show on Saturday, September 16. Stay tuned for more details on these talented designers/thinkers and what they’ll share with us to complement the themes explored by the other stellar speakers on this year’s roster.

Check out the program preview below for more fantastic speakers and a general look at the shape of this year’s conference.

Program overview

Day 1: Tuesday, September 12—Optional Workshops

Hone your skills with our technical, business, and craft workshops. These focused half- and full-day sessions cover diverse topics ranging from type design, sign painting, variable fonts, responsive typography, scripting, and much more.

Days 2–5:

Wednesday–Saturday, September 13–16—General Session

This year’s general session features four info-packed days of programming, with dozens of presentations by seasoned professionals and new voices. Concurrent with the talks, you’ll find inspiring exhibitions, live demos, and interactive type play, along with loads of opportunities for networking and socializing.

Preliminary roster of speakers and workshop leaders

Sahar Afshar
Shani Avni
Sofie Beier
Jordan Bell
Bruno Bernard
John D. Berry
Ann Bessemans
Aaron Bowes
Veronika Burian
Stephen Coles
Peter Constable
Matthieu Cortat
Nicole Dotin
John Downer
Nathalie Dumont
Rachel Elnar
Victor Gaultney
Tom Grace
Will Hill
Lauren Johnson
Quinn Keaveney
Joyce Ketterer
Jèrùme Knebusch
Gloria Kondrup
Borys Kosmynka

Indra Kupferschmid
Kevin Larson
Edwina Lee
Taekyeom Lee
Paul Luna
Josè Manuel Lûpez Rocha
Bruno Maag
Simon Mager
Wei Ming
Aoife Mooney
Bill Moran
Jim Moran
Gillian Mothersill
Megan O’Connell
Sharon Oiga
Riccardo Olocco
Toshi Omagari
Santiago Orozco
Jason Pamental
Elena Papassissa
Laurence Penney
Yves Peters
Thomas Phinney
Judith Poirier

Carolyn Porter
Daniel Rhatigan
Émilie Rigaud
David Jonathan Ross
Christopher Rouleau
Jay Rutherford
Tetsuo Sakomura
José Scaglione
Lucas Sharp
Paul Shaw
Nick Shinn
Matt Soar
Michael Stinson
Arina Stoenescu
Sumner Stone
Andres Torresi
Sergio Trujillo
Ferdinand Ulrich
Petr van Blokland
Malou Verlomme
Guy Villa, Jr.
Wen Wang
Taro Yamamoto

Stay tuned for more speaker announcements and complete program details!

PLEASE NOTE: Due to the possibility of travel mishaps, unexpected family emergencies, and other life events, the speaker lineup, program schedule, and other activities are subject to change without notice. ATypI is not responsible for any typographical errors or omissions.