Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Password reminder


You are here: Home / News / 2015 / ATypI elects a new President

ATypI elects a new President

Argentinian designer José Scaglione was elected President of Association Typographique Internationale at ATypI’s annual meeting in Amsterdam on 13 October 2013.

José is an Argentinian graphic and multimedia designer, and a graduate from the MA in Typeface Design at the University of Reading, UK. He has been working in branding, editorial design and multimedia projects since 1995. He was co-founder of the Vision Media Design Studio in Argentina and art director at Multiplicity Advertising and The prepaid Press in USA.

José is co-founder of the independent type foundry TypeTogether (with Prague-based Veronika Burian), and additionally leads his own design studio, consults and lectures on typography and graphic communication matters. He also teaches typography at post-graduate level at the National University of Rosario. José has been a board member of ATypI since 2007 and was appointed chairman of the Letter.2, the second international typeface design competition, by ATypI.

Outgoing President John D Berry stepped down after six years leading the organisation, and will focus on his book design and consulting activities as well as a new organisation which will promote typographic quality in electronic publications. John remains a member of the board and becomes Honorary President.

In other Board changes, Vice-Presidents Mark Barratt (UK) and Maxim Zhukov (Russia) did not seek re-election on the expiry of their terms on the board. They were replaced as Vice-Presidents by Petra Weitz (Germany) and Gerry Leonidas (UK). Gerry was re-elected to the board after an absence. Board members Cynthia Batty (USA), Ted Harrison (USA), and Gunnar Vilhjalmsson (Iceland) did not seek re-election on the expiry of their terms.